Acceptance

As I continue into my second semester as a freshman in college I have seen my life take a complete 180, and for the better.

As I went home for winter break I got to see all of the people I called friends in high school and got to hear about their amazing college experience and see the similarities and differences in our lives, now that we are living our lives the same but so different at the same time.

I also got to reconnect with my friends who chose to stay closer to home and choose a different path of work and school at a two year school, which is just as amazing no matter what anyone says.

And seeing these two perspectives at the same time back in my home town I finally realized, I have accepted life. I have accepted the fact that we HAD to graduate high school,  we HAD to make a decision to continue our education or start in the work for right away, or even the military. And for some people they had yet to find that acceptance, which was strange for me to see at first, but I have later come to my own thoughts and finally see that that is what is comfortable for some peoples acceptance levels right now in their life.

Now that I am in college I finally had the opportunity to live through what people have said to me; “You wont keep the same friends in college that you had in high school”. I always laughed when people told me that, I always thought that I would find the most amazing friends in high school that would stand by me no matter what. But I had to come to the acceptance that that is not the case at all.

I had to come to the acceptance that I had friends in high school that, in reality, did not have the same pathway that I had, or that some friends wanted to postpone this pathway I am in to get settled in the real world first. And the crazy thing is, I have accepted that not everyone is going to do life in a traditional way, and that is okay.

But what I know is not acceptable is not accepting what my friends have chosen for their life pathways.

I want nothing but to be accepting of my friends and family from my hometown and support them in their dreams, but I have come to the realization that those people I would do anything for have changed their mentality since I was home the last time, and that is completely acceptable.

I am taking a sociology course this semester that has really opened my eyes. It has opened my eyes to acceptance in society, and has influenced me to write this post on acceptance. I know that our lives and lifestyles will be different now, but does that mean that the people we once were has to change so drastically?

I know the choices I am choosing are right, they will benefit me in the long run and that is what matters. And I know that my friends back on the mainland living out their lives are choosing the right choices for them and I am nothing but accepting and proud of them.

Take a different outlook on life, accept others, what they are, what they do, what they want to achieve. I think the small things like this are what will start to make this world a better place.

“And Jesus said unto them, Because of your unbelief: for verily I say unto you, If ye have faith as a grain of mustard see, ye shall say unto this mountain, Remove hence to yonder place; and it shall remove; and nothing shall be impossible unto you.” Matthew 17:20

Leave a Reply

